Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
hudson144

Mount Vernon 2nd Alarm 8/9 Discussion

23 posts in this topic

7 stores burning- 2 truck co's working? what about some more trucks ifo the fire buildings? here's something to discuss. do you think they didn't call in more trucks because of the mutual aid flap? 0330 hrs-18 firefighters, 4 officers and a chief working- do you think this is enough? this could be a good one! basic math here-

18 firefighters

- 1 (chiefs aid)

------

- 3 (mpo's)

--------

- 2 (turntable truck men)

-------

12 firefighters the balance

lets see how we all feel about this!* 2 more mpo's if all engs were pumping- down to 10 men

I got to this incident rather early to shoot some pictures. I am not an expert on taxpayer fires by any means. It seems as if these guys are SEVERELY undermanned, but didn't call mutual aid to assist them in that problem.

I am new to the area (less than a year) after coming from the Chicago suburbs. I do know what it is like to roll out of the firehouse with only 1 man on the back-step. It just seemed that from my standpoint, which obviously is only a photographer/observer, that there was more to be done than the members could do!

This is the first job that I have been to up there. Is there a "pissing match" (chicago term for political fight) between a couple of departments so they don't call each other? They took care of the whole job with (I think) 4 & 2 and a rescue.

My observations:

A few more BIGGER lines (2 1/2" or stangs)?

Maybe another TL to sweep the front?

Operating exterior lines from the sidewalk/collapse zone?

One other thing? For this part of the country, is an 1 3/4" the preferred outside hand-line? I am not used to this but I have seen it out here a few times. Is this the way it is done?